Deer on Turkey Day

I know Christmas is right around the corner, but I’m going to go back to Thanksgiving just for a minute to tell about an adventure from Turkey Day last year. Typically, I don’t normally hunt Thanksgiving evening because after eating 7 lbs. of food and a nap during the seasonal football games I’m just straight-up exhausted. However, Nov. 28, 2013, was an unusual evening.

After stuffing my face, my brother, dad and I made a last minute decision to go get in the stands for the evening. We were hustling as time was dwindling, but managed to get in the stand with a couple hours of daylight left. The evening seemed to be perfect, but it was eerily quiet all night long.

I was in a box stand overlooking a sloping field adjacent to a lake. My brother was in the field over, and my dad was about half a mile away overlooking a creek on some power lines. Still no shots and no sounds piercing the frosty evening. I had almost given up. I started packing my essentials when I happened to look out of the blind about one hundred and seventy yards in front of me and saw antlers slowly poking through the woods. I hurriedly fumbled for my gun putting it up on the plywood window in front of me. The buck hesitated like mature bucks do putting their nose into the wind. The moment was here. I pulled the hammer back put my cross hairs on the buck as he was quartering away and boom!

I missed.

The buck didn’t move. I frantically pulled the lever on my 30-30 Martin to eject my empty shell when he slowly turned back towards the woods. I reloaded my gun put the cross hairs on him, and shot except this time I hit him and he barely ran thirty yards into the woods. It took me what seemed like forever just to take control of my breathing. There was still about thirty minutes of light left, so I waited for my brother and dad to finish up.

This was a buck we hadn’t seen before, but was easily a 4 1/2 year old deer. Originally, I thought he had been a perfect eight, but when we retrieved he was a big seven. This was a beautiful deer, and I was blessed to be in the right place at the right time.

photo (10)

(Written by Mr. Nathan Unger. Nathan is a Senior at the University of Georgia majoring in Public Relations. Nathan is an avid hunter and a passionate outdoorsman from Southwest Virginia)

Leave a Reply

