Turkey Season is Right Around the Corner

By Nathan Unger

It’s almost here! The season we’ve all been waiting for. No not March Madness or college football, but turkey season! That’s exactly right. One of the most underrated seasons in all of North America, unless, of course you’re a turkey hunter.

Why is turkey season so great?

1. It’s thrilling!

2. It allows you to be outdoors

3. It creates time to be with friends and family

4. Turkey tastes good

For all the avid turkey hunters out there you know exactly what I’m talking about. It’s the time of year when you sit between the pines on a bed of straw and call the gobblers out of their hiding. Then, your adrenaline spikes as one answers you back closer than you expected. There’s no thrill remotely like it.

Turkey hunting strikes a special chord with me since my father and I spent many hours in the south Georgia woods as I was growing up. Since I hadn’t taken up deer hunting yet, I looked forward to every spring knowing that dad would take off work for us to go hunting for a few days. Because we were practicing a DIY way of hunting, just learning as we went along, turkey hunting proved to be fairly difficult with their incredible eye sight and keen since of awareness. We would hunt many days and hear several birds without ever getting an ethical shot on one which resulted in a “we’ll get ’em next year.” As time went on, and the years went by our luck began to change. Dad recorded his first turkey which was very exciting! Then eventually his second and his third. Several years later during my college career, turkey hunting has been put on the wayside due to the busy schedules and lack of convenient places to hunt. Eventually my younger brother recorded his first long-beard while I’m still at zero.

PICT1071

Hit-list gobblers for this season

My hope for this year is that I make the time to get out of town and go sit in the woods and have my first shot at one of natures most unpredictable game animals. However, if I don’t, I’ll just remember dad’s old saying that still rings in my mind, “we’ll get ’em next year.”

Be sure to subscribe or comment below. Also like our page on Facebook and follow us on Twitter and Instagram and YouTube

Leave a Reply

